guyspaster.blogg.se

How to install os x after replacing hard drive
How to install os x after replacing hard drive











how to install os x after replacing hard drive
  1. #How to install os x after replacing hard drive for mac os
  2. #How to install os x after replacing hard drive mac os x
  3. #How to install os x after replacing hard drive update
  4. #How to install os x after replacing hard drive upgrade

You may need to get yourself a drive caddy for this purpose.

#How to install os x after replacing hard drive update

Update the firmware, swap drives, and use Internet Recovery, OR.So, you can see that it may be easier to start over by swapping back in the old drive, and then, either: however, it would have had to been done BEFORE your swapped the drives as you would need to download and install the EFI Firmware ROM update.

how to install os x after replacing hard drive

I believe your 2011 MBP would qualify for this update. However, some older Macs may be able to use Internet Recovery with a firmware update.

how to install os x after replacing hard drive

Just swapping a new drive, that new drive would not have a recovery partition so that would rule out doing the Recovery Mode boot Internet Recovery would require a 2012+ Mac.

how to install os x after replacing hard drive

You wouldn't need to do Internet Recovery in this case and things would much easier in the long run. Sorry, for the multiple questions, but typically when you want to swap out drives, especially if the old drive is still functional, you would first clone the old drive to the new one, and then, physically switch them. and yes, I understand that you are trying to do this. Yes, I am trying to perform an internet recovery How were you able to format the new drive? So, you just swapped them out without cloning the old drive first. If the installer doesn't see your disk, or it says that it. Follow these guidelines during installation: If the installer asks to unlock your disk, enter the password you use to log in to your Mac. I don't have a time machine backup or a cloned copy To begin installation, select Reinstall macOS from the utilities window in macOS Recovery, then click Continue and follow the onscreen instructions.

#How to install os x after replacing hard drive for mac os

I have subsequently partitioned formatted the new drive for Mac OS extended. Therefore, if your computer’s hard drive already has Windows installed on it, you won’t be able to install Mac OS X. I physically removed the old and reinstalled the new one out of the box. Performing an Internet Recovery would have installed either of those two OR the latest available that was compatible for that model.

#How to install os x after replacing hard drive mac os x

I have the Mac OS X Install DVD which says 'To start up from Mac OS X, hold down the C key as the computer starts up.' I've tried that and all I get is a folder icon with a question mark on it. You can then still use your old drive as either a cloned backup or as an external drive. Select Apply (Note: This will erase all data from the drive. Choose Mac OS Extended (Journaled) Partition for the volume format. You may need to get yourself a drive caddy for this purpose. Physically install the drive into the Mac. If it is an Early 2011, the original version of OS X that came with was 10.6.6 for the Late 2011 model, it would be 10.7.2. I had an authorized Apple repair facility replace the hard drive on my IMac when the original drive died. Update the firmware, swap drives, and use Internet Recovery, OR. It would have been running the original OS, not sure what that was.įYI. It's a second-hand Mac and came with El Capitan installed.It is a 2011 13" MacBook Pro. I don't have a physical copy of the OS, so it concerns me a little. This is all good, but I have read mixed information about whether or not the Time Machine backup includes a complete backup of data and OS or if I will need to install the OS onto the new drive and update it before restoring from the Time Machine. Then, with keeping the USB Drive with Time Machine backup on it connected, I boot to it and some sort of Disk Utility software will walk me through restoring the Time Machine backup to my newly installed drive. My understanding is that once the backup has completed, I swap my internal SSD with the new SSD. I have an external USB drive which I will be setting up to create a Time Machine backup. My mac is running the latest version of MacOS.

#How to install os x after replacing hard drive upgrade

I'm looking to upgrade a 120GB SSD in my late 2009 iMac (21.5in) to a 250GB SSD.













How to install os x after replacing hard drive